Gemstone Clarity

Loose Gemstones:

Specials Product:
CODE: D001

Diamond Rough
0.3 - 1.5 carat
USD $ 190/Crt
Detail report
CODE: Z001

Emerald Rough
1.5 - 10 carat
USD $ 40/Crt
Detail report
CODE: R001

Ruby Rough
1.5 - 10 carat
USD $ 40/Crt
Detail report
CODE: S001

Sapphire Rough
1.5 - 10 carat
USD $ 40/Crt
Detail report
CODE: Y001

Yellow Sapphire Rough
1.5 - 10 carat
USD $ 40/Crt
Detail report
CODE:  C001

Cat Eyes Rough
1.5 - 10 carat
USD $ 30/Crt
Detail report

Support By:

Gemstone Clarity

Gemstone clarity relates to the amount of inclusions (trace elements or large particles of other elements or minerals) that a gem has.  The less inclusions within the gemstone, usually the higher the quality and more expensive the stone is.
The majority of minerals, gemstones and specifically diamonds have small inclusions that lower there clarity.  While there are many types of charts that can guide you to the ratings of gemstone clarity, it should be noted that most minerals will always have inclusions (Emerald and Rubies) and these inclusions will not necessarily devalue the gemstone, in fact in certain circumstances, inclusions are welcomed and will add value to a gemstone (e.g. Pyrite inclusions in Lapis Lazuli)
One of the important points to make when judging clarity is to judge it against the normal standard of that specific gemstone.  Even a cloudy diamonds will usually have fewer inclusions than the highest priced Emeralds.  Stay within the gemstone standard to figure out if the stone is less of a value due to its clarity.
One of the ways professional jewelers can give you a good idea on how clarity rates when measured against other specific gemstones is with the use of a Clarity Grading System.  Most gemstone organizations such as the GIA (Gemological Institute of America) create an easy to understand chart and grading system to reasonably grade any gemstone on clarity.  Usually, when shopping for a gemstone at a jeweler, the stone may be stated as being in a clarity grade of the following.

Gems are usually graded by a type (1, 2,or 3) and by clarity (VVS, VS, SI, etc.). Below are the grading criteria used by the Gemological Institute of America for colored gems:

  • Type 1 gemstones are are stones that are usually free of inclusions. This group includes gems in the quartz family, like amethyst and citrine, topaz, zircon, and beryls, like aquamarine.
  • Clarity in the type 1 group is classified as VVS (minute to detectable), VS (minor), SI1 (noticeable), SI2 (obvious) or I (included).
  • Type 2 gemstones include garnet, iolite, alexandrite, ruby, sapphire, or peridot.
  • Clarity in the type 2 group is classified as VVS (minor), VS (noticeable), SI1 (obvious), SI2 (prominent), or I (prominent, affecting appearance).
  • Type 3 gemstones are stones that almost always have inclusions. This group includes emerald and red tourmaline.
  • Clarity in the type 3 group is classified as VVS (noticeable), VS (Obvious), SI1 (prominent), SI2 (more prominent), or I1 (affecting appearance or durability).
  • For example, if you are looking at a stone that is VVS type 2, that means that it is a type 2 stone with minute inclusions that may be visible only under 10x magnification. On the other hand, A VS type 3 has inclusions that are easily visible to the naked eye.
  • Some sellers may use simpler terms to describe the clarity of their gemstones. For example:
  • Clean - no inclusions visible under 10x magnification.
  • Eye-clean - inclusions not visible to the naked eye.
  • VVS, VS, or SI - Inclusions visible to the naked eye, but still a beautiful gem.
  • Included - numerous inclusions that affect the beauty of the gem.


  1. IF = Loupe Clean - Internally flawless; free of inclusions
  2. VVS = Almost Loupe Clean - Very, very slight inclusions; inclusions barely seen under 10x magnification
  3. VS = Eye Clean - Very slight inclusions; inclusions can be seen under 10x magnification
  4. SI = Slightly included - Small inclusions can be seen with the naked eye
  5. I1 = Included - Inclusions can be seen with the naked eye
  6. Transparent = A gemstone having the property of transmitting light without serious diffusion / may have rutile or other inclusions
  7. Translucent = Allowing light to pass through, but not transparent
  8. Opaque = Does not allow light to pass through